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This FAQ has been compiled by the good people at The Tower, visit their 
website: 
http://www.geocities.com/sheriam_sedai/index.ht
ml 
For any other question or help with future compilations contact me at 
colbyhaydenx@aol.com 

The background is courtesy of Ishmael who’s work can also be found at 
The Tower.Library. 
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Q: Can a Noble take an exclusive skill as their 1st level bonus class 
skill? 
A: Yes 

Q: How do multi classed Initiate/Wilders work? 
A:  
A channeler who multiclasses between the initiate and wilder classes 
must use Table 3-5: Initiate Weaves for determining her number of 
weaves. The character's level, for determining the number of weaves, is 
equal to her total channeling level (in other words, the total of her levels 
in initiate and wilder).  

However, characters with levels in both wilder and initiate gain bonus 
weaves from Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma.  

A couple of notes. In a few cases, a character who multiclasses will 
actually lose some channeling ability. For example, a 3rd-level wilder can 
cast 1 3rd-level weave per day. If she adds a level in initiate (and thus 
gets the weaves per day of a 4th-level initiate), she looses the ability to 
cast 3rd-level weaves. Unfortunately, setbacks like these are part of the 
cost of learning a new class.  

Also, the rules do not require a character to multi-class. A wilder who 
goes to Tar Valon can continue to advance as a wilder if she wants. It's 
perfectly possible for a powerful Aes Sedai to have levels only in wilder, 
with no initiate or Aes Sedai prestige class levels 

In order for an initate to multiclass into wilder (meaning they have no 
previous levels of wilder), they must have [or take] the Eliminate Block 
feat. 

When a channeler multi-classes, they get all the benefits of the new class 
(including a second talent and affinty). When benefits conflict (like 
overchanneling), the character uses the best option (which, in the case of 
overchanneling, would be wilder's). They also suffer the restrictions of the 
other classes (a Wilder multiclassing into initiate would have to join one 
of the four initiate traditions - which can mean gaining a mentor. 

Q: Does the Woodsman's Partial Improved Initiative stack with the 
Improved Initiative feat? 
A: No, the bonuses don't stack. However, a woodsman with the 
Improved Initiative feat would gain the bonus all the time, not just when 
wearing no armor or light armor. 

Q: If a class provides weapon/armor proficiencies, does the Ogier 
get them upon advancing to 2nd level in the class? 
A: No. An Ogier character simply misses out on the martial and exotic 
weapons proficiencies provided by his starting class. 

Q: If an Ogier multiclasses, do they get the weapon proficiencies of 
their new class? 
A: Yes. After 1st level (that's 1st character level, not every 1st class 
level), Ogier gain weapon and armor proficiencies like every other 
character. 

Q: If an Ogier takes the Wanderer class at 1st level, what weapons 
do they get? I assume they get the simple weapons listed under the 
class, but not the martial weapons. So, that means they would be 

able to use the following - club, crossbow, dagger, mace (heavy and 
light), morningstar, and quarterstaff. Is this correct? 
A: That's correct. The restrictions apply only to martial and exotic 
weapons; an Ogier wanderer does begin play proficient in the wanderer's 
simple weapons. 

Q: In the books channelers cannot heal themselves. Reading the 
rules, it's not explicitly stated if that creature can be the channeler 
(you can touch yourself, after all...). Can a weave with 'creature 
touched' as the target be used on oneself? 
A: Yes. Touch range includes the caster, so technically a channeler can 
heal himself. Perfectly accurate with the books? Perhaps not, but it's 
something that could be very important to a party that only has one 
channeler. 

Q: There's noticeably no weave to heal poison or disease - cut for 
space? 
A: Covered in Prophecies of the Dragon. Also in Prophecies of the 
Dragon is some more information on the Seanchan (including a 
background) 

Q: What is the scale for the map? 
A: Not an official scale, but a good one to use is 1" = 400 miles. 

Q: The Invert skill is listed as lost. Does this mean that you must 
find someone (Forsaken) to teach you, even though it is listed as a 
class skill. 
A: Yes. 

Q: The write up for bashing with shields says you cannot bash with 
a tower shield yet there are not listing of tower shields in the book. 
A: Ignore the comment about tower shields. 

Q: Does a tied off weave count for a held for the purpose of 
multiweaving? 
A: A tied off weave does NOT count as a "held" weave. In other words, 
even without the Multiweave feat, a channeler can cast one weave, tie it 
off, and then cast another weave. 

Q: Can one overchannel to use a weave over their required ability 
score (such as an initiate with an int of 16 casting an 8th-level 
weave)? What about angrael and sa'angrael? 
A: Angrael and linking can exceed the ability score limit. Overchanneling 
cannot. 

Example: 
"Since a Wilder of Initiate needs an ability score of 10 + weave level to 
cast that particular weave would they need a 23 Wis/Int to cast 13th-level 
Balefire?" 
"No. 
 
When you use linking or angreal to increase the level of a weave slot, 
you can exceed the maximum weave level imposed by your ability score. 
However, this is not true of overchanneling. Thus, to overchannel to cast 
balefire at level 10, you'd have to have in Int of 20 (assuming you're an 
initiate). But if you use an 8th-level slot and a +2 angreal, you could cast 
it with an Int of only 18. To cast it at 13th level, by overchanneling and 
using a +2 angreal, you'd have to have an Int of 21 (not counting the 
angreal, you're casting at 11th level)." 

Q: Does the Speak Language skill work like the background 
languages or not, i.e. would it take 1 rank to learn a new dialect and 
2 to learn an entire new language or just 1 for the new language 
A: 1 rank = 1 new language or dialect. 

Q: The equipment list doesn't list Mighty Two Rivers Bows, yet the 
Craft skill allows you to create them. Are Mighty Two Rivers Bows 
allowed? 
A: If you'd like to include mighty bows in your campaign, you can use the 
rules for mighty bows from the D&D Players Handbook (see page 113). 
Just change the prices from gp to mk. 

Q: Can a 10th level (or higher) character use the reputation bonus 
given by masterwork/masterpiece weapons/armor as a bonus when 
trying to attract followers? 
A: I'd leave this one up to your GM. Since an attempt to attract followers 
occurs over an extended period of time, your character would probably 
need to bear his masterpiece/masterwork items most of the time over 



 
that period to gain the Reputation benefit they offer. If he does, he?s 
probably entitled to the bonus. If not, then not. But again, your GM is the 
final arbitor. 

Q: Blade of Fire, Fiery Sword, Tool of Air, and Wand of Fire all seem 
to be useless if a channeler doesn't have the Tie Off Weave feat, due 
to the fact that concentrating on a weave is a full round action. Can 
a channeler, for example, attack with a Fiery Sword if she doesn't tie 
it off? 
A: To concentrate on a weave while attacking, the channeler must make 
a Concentration check (DC 15 + casting level). 

Q: Is everyone proficient with unarmed strikes, or do you have to be 
proficient with all simple weapons, or just proficient with gauntlets? 
Or does it count as it's own simple weapon that you must become 
proficient in? 
A: Proficiency doesn't apply to unarmed strikes. You don't have to be 
proficient in anything to make an unarmed strike. Therefore, everyone is 
capable of doing it, regardless of what weapons they are or are not 
proficient in. 

Q: Does the defense bonus from an Aiel Buckler stack with the 
class defense bonus for an algai'd'siswai? 
A: No 

Q: Is Myrddraal Black Plate considered Medium Armor or Heavy 
Armor? 
A: Medium 

Q: What are the knowledge class skills for Initiates, Woodsmen, and 
Wilders? 
A: All knowledge skills are class skills for initiates, wilders, nobles, and 
wanderers. For woodsmen, Knowledge (nature) is a class skill, but other 
knowledge skills are not. 

Q: On P. 218, it's stated that an armsman who multiclasses into 
Warder may add both class defense bonuses together for the 
purpose of stacking with armor. Now what if the character has less 
than 3 levels of Armsman? (Say an Armsman 2/Woodsman 4). Do 
those 2 points of defense from the Armsman class still stack? 
A: Yes. A Warder's armor compatibility class ability allows him to stack 
his Defense from all levels in armsman and Warder. He doesn't have to 
have the armsman's armor compatibility class ability for this to be in 
effect, so he gets the benefit even if he only has one or two levels of 
armsman. 

Q: I have an initiate with the fire and air weaves. Since the 
description of the affinity says if you have all of the affinities that 
the spell contains, you can use a slot one level lower to cast it. Now, 
at 2nd level, I only had first level slots available. Since Fireball is a 
2nd level weave minimal, but i have both affinities, would i be able 
to use a first level weave to cast it? 
A: Yes 

Q: The prerequisites for the Blademaster Prestige Class include 
some feats but not their prerequisites. Is this correct? 
A: Yes. Occassionally, there are ways to get around a feat's 
prerequisites, making it possible to have that feat without having its 
prerequisite feats. In this case, if you have Whirlwind Attack, the prestige 
class doesn't care if you have the prerequisites. However, you must have 
some legitimate way of gaining Whirlwind Attack--and 9 times out of 10, 
the way to get it is to gain the prerequisite feats first. 

Errata: 

pg. 20, Charisma does not determine the maximum level of weave a 
Wilder can cast, only wisdom. 

pg. 43, Militia feat. Should read "Benefit: You get Simple Weapon 
Proficiency (crossbow) and Martial Weapon Proficiency (Pike or Poleaxe) 

pg. 48, algai'd'siswai, under Weapon and Armor Profiency, it should say 
"An algai'd'siswai is proficient with all simple weapons, and with the Aiel 
short bow." The start of the next paragraph should read "Algai'd'siswai 
are proficient with the Aiel buckler. However, algai'd'siswai do not wear 
armor and do not start with any other armor or shield proficiencies." 

pg. 51-52, the DC saves vs. an Initiate's weave is deterimed by 
Intelligence, not Wisdom 

pg. 52, Table 3-5, an 18th level initiate gets 2 level 9 weaves. 

pg. 79, following the description for the Heal skill, should be this table: 

Result 
Additional 
Damage 
Converted 

0-9 none 

10-14 1 hp 

15-20 2 hp 

20-24 3 hp 

25+ 4 hp 

pg. 90, the Quickness feat should not be on the feat table. 

pg. 129, at the end of the text for Power-wrought Blade, should be: 
    "All Power-wrought blades are masterwork (if +1) or masterpiece (if +2 
or +3) weapons; their attack bonuses include the bonus for their 
masterwork or masterpiece craftsmanship. A character carrying a visible 
(i.e., unconcealed) Power-wrought blade gains the appropriate 
Reputation bonus (see Weapon, Masterwork and Weapon, Masterpiece, 
below)." 

pg. 206, Requirements for the Aes Sedai prestige class should be: 
   Gender: Female 
    Skills: Composure 4 ranks, Concentration 8 ranks, Weavesight 4 
ranks 
    Feats: Multiweave, Tie Off Weave 
    Channeling: Two or more Talents, two or more Affinities 

pg. 207, Requirements for the Asha'man prestige class should be: 
   Gender: Male 
    Base Attack Bonus: +2 
    Skills: Composure 4 ranks, Concentration 8 ranks, Weavesight 3 
ranks 
    Feats: Multiweave, Tie Off Weave 
    Channeling: Two or more Talents, two or more Affinities 
    Special: Proficiency with any type of sword (normally a longsword) 

pg. 208, Asha'man Combat Casting should read: 
    "At 2nd level, an Asha'man gains a variation of the Combat Casting 
feat. He receives a +5 circumstance bonus on Concentration checks 
made to cast or maintain a weave while on the defensive." 

Improved Asha'man Combat Casting should read: 
    "As Asha'man combat casting, except the Asha'man gains a +6 
circumstance bonus on Concentration checks made to cast or maintain a 
weave while on the defensive." 

pg. 211, Commander prestige class requirements should be: 
    Base Attack Bonus: +5 
    Skills: Diplomacy 6 ranks 
    Special: Reputation 4+, Must belong to an organized standing force. 
This includes mercenary companies, national armies, and the foreces 
attached to individual houses or nobles. 

pg. 219, Requirements for the Windfinder prestige class should be: 
   Gender: Female 
    Skills: Composure 4 ranks, Concentration 8 ranks, Weavesight 4 
ranks 
    Feats: Multiweave, Tie Off Weave 
    Channeling: Two or more Talents, two or more Affinities 

pg. 220, Requirements for the Wise One prestige class should be: 
   Gender: Female 
    Skills: Composure 4 ranks, Concentration 8 ranks, Weavesight 4 
ranks 
    Feats: Multiweave 
    Channeling: Two or more Talents, two or more Affinities 

pg. 234, right after the damage section should have this entry: 



 
Face/Reach 
This line describes how much space the creature needs to fight 
effectively and how close it has to be to an opponent to threaten or attack 
it. This is written in the format [feet] by [feet]/[feet]: The numbers before 
the slash show the creature's fighting space (width first, length second). 
The number after the slash is the creature's natural reach. If the creature 
has exceptional reach due to a weapon, tentacle, or the like, the 
extended reach and its source are noted in parentheses. 

  


